Trying to recreate 2d sonic running animation

i’m fairly new to gdevelop, and i’m trying to make my own 2d Sonic game. But i’m facing a problem with his running animation.

His running animation (12 sprites) starts with Sprite 1, where he starts moving slowly, but to Sprite 10 to 12, it’s his max speed running.

But if i just make make the animation with Sprite 1 to 12, it will repeat everything, while i just want 10 to 12 to repeat once Sprites 1 to 9 appeared on screen.

Any ideas how can i do that?

1 Like

You need two animations, while accelerating set the jogging(?) animation (the non full speed one), you can even increase the animation speed in function of the player speed to accelerate the animation along the player.
When the player reaches a high speed, set the running animation (the full speed one), and switch to the lower speed animation again if the player speed is reduced.

PS: If you want to make a full Sonic game you’ll face problems with the loops :stuck_out_tongue:

Interesting. How can i adapt it to the character speed then? I found nothing in the animation window for that.

Concerning the loops, well, i’m not there yet, i will think about that after, the character works properly.

There is an action for sprites to set the animation speed scale, a scale = 1 means common speed, a scale = 2 means the animation will be played twice as fast, you can do something like this:

Do = (PlayerCurrentSpeed * 2) / PlayerMaxSpeed to the animation speed scale of Player

This way if the current speed is the half of the max speed the animation speed scale will be 1, and if the current speed reaches the max speed the scale will be 2. But getting the current speed and max speed depends on the behavior or system used, check the animation speed scale example :slight_smile:

I’m trying to recreate it perfectly, based on the original physics, like that.

imgur.com/a/Mz3Jm

For now here’s what i did:

Animation of Jogging :

imgur.com/a/bcvWx