HELP FOR ROAD TO SIMCITY

(sorry for my english I’m french) Hello everyone, I need your help for a problem that I have since really long time without finding a solution (6/7 months) …
So, I would like my program to change the animation of my objects “road” once it is created, but with certain conditions, such as the location of one or more adjacent roads.

Example:
That
(each square corresponds to a “road” object)

by that
(here each object “road” changes animation and become what they should be logically)

Do you have any idea how I could proceed please ?

I have never tried anything like this so I have no experience how to do it, but my first try would be is to setup a grid system and check for each grid one by one what road is display there.

So lat say we have a grid like this

1234 A 0100 B 1111 C 0100

Where 0 is empty 1 is road. So what I would do is check the neighbour of each tile and say if A2 display a road, set animation at B2 to T junction if A2 and C2 display a road set animation at B2 to cross road… And pretty much setup an algorithm inside an external event and whenever I use the paint road tool, run it to update all the grids.

To make it more advanced, each grid tile could also store information in object variables regarding what road is it, is it a motorway or highway and add that too regarding what animations to display.

There is definitely lot of place for errors, it won’t be easy.

A grid system is really well thought out, but not so easy. I’ll try what you explained to me and then if other people give me a simpler solution, I’ll take x)

Thank you very much ddabrahim !