Changing Default Sprite/Object Direction

Hi all,

I’m new to Gdevelop and will appreciate some help regarding the direction facing of sprites/objects

I have an object of a space ship and added to the ship event
“add force (angle)”
For direction i set it as : ship.Direction()

It works but for some reason it’s flying backwards.
I’m thinking the default direction is set to it’s rear. Is there any way to re-set the default direction of the sprite/object?

One more question.

Currently it is moving at a constantly +5 pixels per (sec?)

Is there a way to limit the speed?

i’m trying to use:
"Compare the speed when speed >= to 15 "
But not sure what action to use to limit it

Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks :slight_smile:

You can’t change the default direction, which is facing to the right, so you have two options:

• Edit the images and flip them so they face to the right
  • In every event you get the direction of the ship, add a +180 to the angle to counteract the effect:
Add a force to the ship, with angle: Ship.Direction() + 180, and length: 5 px/s

I recommend to fix the images, otherwise you’ll have to modify every action related to angles :smiling_imp:

If the ship moves constantly at 5 px/s, then its speed is already limited, sorry I don’t understand the problem :slight_smile:

Hi Lizard-13,

Thanks for the help :slight_smile:

The ship image i used was from the default resource library.
It’s default direction (the cockpit) is pointing to the right.

However for some reason it is flying backwards…

Will try a custom image to see if it works correctly

Update: Tried a custom image and it works fine.

I’m trying for Asteroid kind of ship controls

After adding force(angle), at length: 5px/s with Dampening:1
The speed keeps keeps increasing per sec which is fine. But how do i limit the speed to say 20/s?

I’m trying the event: Object->Movement->Speed
Overall speed of ship >= 20
But what do i use for the action?