New to GDevelop, will it work for what I want?

I’m just getting into this sort of thing. I’ve been developing a set of rules for a tabletop space combat game that I feel is becoming too complex for pencil and paper. There are a lot of background mathematical calculations I’m incorporating in order to make certain elements of the game more realistic (or at least more interesting to me). Things like a complex damage model, power distribution systems, and mass/thrust interactions. In addition, I feel that the scale on a traditional tabletop battlemat isn’t large enough given the speeds that might be involved in this sort of game. So now I’m looking into options to try to develop it into what I think should be a fairly simple computer game.

After doing a little research on the subject, I’ve narrowed my options down to using GDevelop, Monkey X, LOVE (Lua based game development tool), or Roll20 (an online web-based RPG gaming engine). My first choice is GDevelop, as I think it’s probably the easiest (except maybe Roll20). Unfortunately, doing some looking through tutorials and such for this program, it seems that people only make Asteroids clones and side-scrolling arcade and platformer games.

What I’m more or less wanting is to create a board game with an infinite hex-grid map on which to move starship tokens around, with rules that restrict the movement of the ships based on a series of calculations made in the background. In addition to the map, it would also have a set of menus or info panels for creating ships and storing various bits of data for those ships, as well as displaying and interacting with things like power distribution, damage control, and weapons system control. Not sure that describes the game too well, but perhaps it’s enough.