Why does the text size change when testing game?

Hello,

I am a gdevelop beginner,
I am working on some very basic point-and-click user interface. I started to lay out the design or the title screen just to get myself familiar with making basic buttons work, but I’ve already run into a problem.
The problem I am having is the text size changes from what I am seeing on my workspace to when I test the game.
Note only the text on the button is shrunk, the text on the title is part of the PNG image so it stays the same size.

See below for screenshots:

I tried to reproduce that outcome, but I wasn’t able to and it works just fine. Maybe you could just add the text to the image itself, though it removes the dynamic aspect of it; but for sure you will be able to manage it properly and even if the image gets resized you won’t be having a hard time to change it since its on the image itself.

In case you are using a custom font, my guess would be that in the preview the font isn’t loaded.
The problem is that GDevelop does not preload fonts at the moment so in case you want to use a custom font in the very first scene, it won’t be loaded by the time the text is rendered on the screen. So what you need to do is preload the font by displaying a text in the very first scene, it doesn’t need to do anything just have a text object using the custom font in the first scene when the game starts and just move on to the menu scene straight away. This way you can force GDevelop to preload the font before rendering the text in the menu.

Take a look at the custom font example bundled with GDevelop:
editor.gdevelop-app.com/?projec … ustom-font

Note that, if you open the above example in Firefox, the text object may be not visible in the editor due to a problem with the online editor and firefox, so make sure you open the example in Chrome or use the desktop version of GD.

Thanks so much for your help. Yes this is a custom font and I suspected that was somehow part of the problem too.