Screen Boundaries

I am very new to using gdevelop and I have followed the Tank Shooter tutorial. I added top down movement to the player and added WASD keys, however I have found that the player can continue moving past the original screen size. My question is:

How do I create some sort of boundary that the player/enemies cannot move past (such as the ‘invisible walls’ from many older games)?

You can, set a limit to the X / Y value; if the player/enemy is close to that value it will always be equal to that value. (So it won’t go past that value).

Where do I set up this X/Y value?

If you are dealing with a world that is a big rectangle, then checking the X and Y positions will work.

Just use a condition that checks the position of the player object using

all objects>Position>compare X position of an object
or
all objects>Position>compare Y position of an object

If the limit to the left is 0 then check if the x position of player<0 as your condition. For the action you just stop the player (all objects>movement>stop the object) and set their X position to 0 (all objects>position>X position of object).

If your world is not a simple rectangle in shape then checking X and Y values becomes more complicated, so you might be better off creating an object to use as an invisible barrier.

Create a new object and call it barrier. Then give it a really small square sprite e.g. 8x8 pixels. Drag it onto the scene and then resize the sprite vertically to make a tall, thin rectangle side barrier or horizontally to make a short, wide top/bottom barrier. Ctrl-drag to make as many copies as you need of these long rectangles to completely surround your game world. You then need to do two more things:

1. In a new event do a collision check between player and barrier as the condition (from all objects>collision) and choose “separate two objects” (from all objects>position) as the action.